Last year, I was invited to submit work for an exhibition called On The Map. I’ve been taking my camera out with me on local river walks so thought that would be a good starting point. Reviewing photos, I mapped a route. I then spent hours drawing a map. Literally hours. Then, I paused to watch YouTube videos. Embracing the new Photoshop skills I needed to electronicise (not a real word, but probably should be?) my map. I learnt about using Paths. After many more hours, I felt like I owned those Paths. Many more hours. My hand hurt; mouse fatigue. Nervously, it went to print.

A few weeks later I received from my publishers (daaahling!) Sampson Low, 25 copies of Wandling – A Photographic Walk Along The River Wandle.

Don’t let the title fool you into thinking it features close ups of kingfishers, rabbits at dawn, or sunsets. Expect instead to discover how the river winds its way through rules, more rules, reasonable advice and The New Forest. I lied about the wildlife though.There is a fox; and some ducks in the frost.

If you are interested to see my map, and the maps from the other twelve On the Map artists, then the exhibition is at The Sunbury Embroidery Gallery, The Walled Garden, Sunbury-on-Thames TW166AB from 14th April – 10th May (open 10am to 5pm, closed Mondays).

The private view is on Thursday 23rd April 6.30 – 8.30pm. I’ll be there, and I have a few spare invites. Let me know if you want one.

Or, just come and do the walk sometime.

Leave a Reply

